Webinars with Naheyawin

The Schoen Duo studio is hosting two webinars with naheyawin in April and May of 2021.

Understanding Land Acknowledgements – Thursday April 22, 2021

After giving land acknowledgements at several events, Kathleen was approached by other teachers for more information about how to create land acknowledgements for themselves and for the organizations that they are involved with. She had attended an excellent webinar on this topic that had been presented by Jacquelyn and Hunter Cardinal of naheyawin, so she promptly approached them to see if they would be available to give a similar session for our Suzuki teacher community.

Staying Warm: Allyship in Action – Thursday May 6, 2021

Suzuki teachers are becoming increasingly aware of the very European bias in the music that we usually teach, and are interested in expanding the repertoire to include pieces written by a broader demographic. This includes both classical music by BIPOC composers and folk music from a wider variety of cultural traditions. But how can we acknowledge Indigenous musical traditions with our students in an appropriate and respectful way? When Kathleen asked Hunter Cardinal this question, he consulted with Jacquelyn and returned with this webinar offering, customized to the needs of our Suzuki teaching community.

Both webinars are at 10:00 am – 11:30 am MDT

  • 9:00 am PDT
  • 11:00 am CDT
  • 12:00 noon EDT
  • 1:00 pm ADT
  • 1:30 pm NDT

Link to webinar registration here.

Zoom links to the webinars will be sent to the email address given in your registration the day before the event.

Cost: Pay what you can, by donation.

Payment: Donate via PayPal:

If you prefer to make your donation by e-transfer, email to:
schoenduo@gmail.com


If you want to attend, but can’t afford to pay, you are still welcome to register.
If you can offer a donation to offset the cost of presenting these webinars, pay what you can.